Be Childlike… and Rest!

 

Lately, I have been intentional about adopting a more childlike lifestyle. Isn’t it interesting that the Lord would decide to launch this campaign within my heart at the same time that I begin to walk through many open doors and seize brand new opportunities that have presented themselves?
If you’re anything like me, anytime I make a resolve to “do great things for God”… I dig my feet in, rise up early in the morn, burn the midnight oil and give every ounce of all I’ve got until I burn out. And that’s just the first day!

This time seems different. Even as I began to take the steps that followed saying YES to these new ventures, I immediately heard Him whispering those words from “The Messiah” based on Psalm 37: “Oh Rest in The Lord. Wait patiently for Him and He will give you your heart’s desires”.

In all the working, being and doing… it is so important to find REST in Him. Yes, the physical rest is extremely necessary but also cultivating mental & emotional rest are just as strategic. It is so much easier to shift gears into overdrive all in the name of Excellence. Yet there is a place of endurance that we must find in order to not only begin… but to also perservere to the end.
Learning to rest in the midst of the work is key. Allowing Him to be a partner with us, throughout our day and alongside of us as we serve, brings an element of refreshing and support that we need.

Note to self today: “Take time to receive the rest of the Lord… even as you work. Just as a child plays hard & will often voice their desire to “do it themselves”, they also come running for hugs and kisses at random times throughout the day. Jesus, is available to you at all times… to come and be held. Drink in the refreshing of His presence and remember that His yoke is easy and His burden is light. Always.

Bless you in your restful, productive day today!

For more great posts from others who are helping to “Keep Faith Fresh”, check out my friends at:

 FaithBarista_Rest2JamBadge

5 Comments to “Be Childlike… and Rest!”

  1. So true. We spend so much time “doing” for God, that we miss the divine intimacy with Him…just resting in Him, abiding in Him! Great message! Glad to be a new follower!!

  2. Finding rest in the middle of our work….whoa! I need that! Thanks for coming by my blog and recommending that song….going to listen to it now 🙂

  3. This was a wonderfully written post, and contained some excellent points. Allowing our spirit to gain some respite each day in the Lord allows us to focus ourselves on serving His Will throughout the day.

    Have a Blessed Day!

  4. I love it! To come in and be held. Oh, I will do just that. I’m so glad I visited you. The avatar of that child just drew me in and I had to visit. So thankful I did.

  5. Thank you for this great reminder! I often struggle with resting while working for HIS kingdom.

Leave a Reply

